Friday, May 14, 2010

Deleting a Facebook account

Normally Facebook just has you deactivate your account. It still exists, all the data's there, it's just not accessible. Sounds like a bad idea to me. If I leave Facebook, I'd prefer my account really be gone, or as close to it as Facebook will allow. Unfortunately that may take jumping through some hoops:

  1. Delete all your Wall posts.
  2. Go through your photos and delete all of them, and any albums you've made.
  3. Go through your profile and clear everything out of it.
  4. Remove access to all applications you've allowed to access to. Remove them from the list entirely.
  5. Go into your account settings, Edit Friends, look on the left for Lists and select the Friends list. Remove all your friends from this list. Clear out any other lists you've got too.
  6. Wait for a week.
  7. Finally, go to which displays the real "Delete account" form. If you're truly sure you want to be gone, hit Submit.
  8. After having deleted your account, clear all cookies from your browser. Don't go back to Facebook or try to log on to it for 14 days (2 weeks).

Hopefully at this point your account is solidly deleted.

No comments: